Type 1 Talk Connection Meetings

You Are Not Alone…the Type 1 Community is there for you!

The Type 1 Talk is an informal gathering of caregivers, family, friends, and/or persons with a connection to type 1 diabetes (T1D). The reasons that people attend the networking sessions vary. People may come to a group to gain a better understanding of the disease; they may be looking for advice on a particular subject or just want to be with people who share similar experiences. Therefore, the Type 1 Talk meeting is different things for different people in the type 1 community.

The Type 1 Talk connection provides an opportunity for those diagnosed with T1D and parents of T1D children to meet in a local setting to share thoughts and concerns. Family members, friends, caregivers, and other individuals are also welcomed. The meetings provide a grassroots educational focus, but can also provide mutual emotional support and a communication exchange for coping with matters relating to diabetes. It’s definitely worth the extra effort to attend and participate! Some benefits of being a Type 1 Talk participant are:

  • A chance to be part of a supportive environment or community
  • An opportunity to talk/share with others
  • A chance to learn more about T1D.
  • A place to meet new people
  • A chance to develop informal supports and social relationships
  • A break from care-giving responsibilities
  • A chance to share new diabetes research developments (JDRF Research)

We at JDRF want you to know you are not alone, and we are here to help. Please contact Sandy Lange, SE WI Chapter Outreach Manager at office phone numbers below or email slange@jdrf.org for more information. The people listed can be contacted directly to find out the next time their Type 1 Talk meets. Please join us today!

 

Family Type 1 Talk Meeting Contacts

Brookfield / Waukesha
Bridget Boyle, 262-521-1106
bridgetboyle@att.net

Delafield
Barb Haley, 414-303-0650
bhaley3@wi.rr.com

Greenfield / Hales Corners
Holly Hasler, 414-732-0614
hhasler@mcw.edu

Germantown / Menomonee Falls / Richfield
Kirsten Brown, (414) 801-1228
kirstenbrown2003@yahoo.com

Oconomowoc
Kristina Hoffman, 262-468-6798
khoffman91@gmail.com

Racine County
Jennifer Fredrick, 262-895-3725
jfredrick@tds.net
Thomas Fredrick, 262-895-3725
thomas.fredrick@jannsen.com

Molly Lofquist Johnson, 262-909-9901
mlofquist@prairieschool.com

Sheboygan
Sandy Nicholson, 920-892-6304
sdnick@aol.com

Union Grove
Deana Knutson, 262-902-5293
deanaknutson@hotmail.com

Wauwatosa
Jean Benzinger, 414-774-8889
jbenzingerslah@wi.rr.com

Adult Type 1 Talk Meeting Contacts

Brookfield
Amy Ziegler, 262-617-8591
Amy.Ziegler@marquette.edu

Hartland
James Maslowski, 608 770-0053
maslowski.james@gmail.com

Milwaukee
Karin Daniels, 262-853-2090
karindaniels08@gmail.com

Wauwatosa
Elizabeth Kusak, 563-650-0287
fowler37@yahoo.com